Early Years Foundation Stage

At Trevisker School your child will learn through a carefully planned play based curriculum, which also maximises opportunities to develop their own lines of enquiry.  You will share your child’s learning journey through photos on Tapestry, an online app.

Phonics and reading are taught through our structured Read, Write, Inc programme.  This is a recognised scheme that ensures all children become confident, independent and enthusiastic readers.

We adopt a ‘free flow’ approach which allows children to access both inside and outside throughout the day.  We are fortunate to have a great outdoor learning environment.


What is the Early Years Foundation Stage

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS), is the time in your child’s life between birth and age 5.  This is a very important stage as it helps your child get ready for school as well as preparing them for their future learning and successes. From when your child is born up until the age of 5, their early year’s experience should be happy, active, exciting, fun and secure; and support their development, care and learning needs.  Nurseries, pre-schools, reception classes and child-minders registered to deliver the EYFS must follow a legal document called the Early Years Foundation Stage Framework.


What is the EYFS Framework – Why do we have one?

The EYFS Framework exists to support all professionals working in the EYFS to help your child.  The legal welfare requirements that everyone registered to look after children must follow to keep your child safe and promote their welfare.  The 7 areas of learning and development which guide professionals’ engagement with your child’s play and activities as they learn new skills and knowledge.  Assessments that will tell you about your child’s progress through the EYFS.  Expected levels that your child should reach at age 5, usually the end of the reception year; these expectations are called the “Early Learning Goals (ELGs)” 


How my child will be learning

The EYFS Framework explains how and what your child will be learning to support their healthy development.  Your child will be learning skills, acquiring new knowledge and demonstrating their understanding through 7 areas of learning and development.

Children should mostly develop the 3 prime areas first.  These are:

    • Communication & Language
    • Physical Development
    • Personal, Social & Emotional Development 

The prime areas will help them to develop skills in 4 specific areas.  These are:

    • Literacy
    • Mathematics
    • Understanding the World
    • Expressive Arts & Design 
Online Learning Journal - Tapestry

At Trevisker School we use Tapestry to share information and record children’s play and learning in and outside of the classroom.  Tapestry is a secure online Learning Journal to record photos, observations and comments, in line with the Early Years Foundation Stage curriculum.  Please see the links below for more information.